Sunney Chan Lecture
The 14th Annual Sunney Chan Lecture

2:00 pm, Friday, October 4, 2019

(Venue : Ta-shue Chou Memorial Hall)
Online Registration
Deadline: October 3

Fighting Cancer with Nanoparticle Medicines:
How Size Can Matter

For centuries, cancer has been one of the most devastating diseases. Papyrus writings from 1600-1500 BC describe cancer and attempts at its treatment. Today, the molecular basis of cancer is being unraveled, and therapeutics are being developed to take advantage of this increasing knowledge. One new class of experimental therapeutics involves the use of nanoparticles, where the control of size dramatically determines performance. Given the long history of difficulties in developing cancer therapies, are nanoparticle medicines (nanomedicines) worth the hype? I discuss the current understandings of why engineered nanoparticle medicines (that are highly multifunctional chemical systems) have the potential to provide “game changing” ways to treat cancer. I then illustrate the various features and potentials of nanoparticle medicines using two different nanoparticles that we have translated from laboratory curiosities into experimental therapeutics in human clinical trials. I conclude with our new approach to bring therapy safely into the brain using nanoparticles




Prof. Mark E. Davis

Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology
Member, City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center, Experimental Therapeutics Program
Member, UCLA Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center




Honors and Awards (Since 2005)

  • 2019, International Zeolite Association – Donald Breck Award for the Most Significant Contribution to Molecular Sieve Science (first person to win the award twice)
  • 2015, Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors
  • 2014, 2014 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research
  • 2014, ACS – Gabor A. Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis
  • 2011, Institute of Medicine of the National Academies
  • 2010, University of Kentucky – Hall of Distinguished Alumni
  • 2009, American Chemical Society – Elmer Gaden Award
  • 2009, Honorary Doctor of Engineering, University of Kentucky
  • 2008, AIChE – 100th Anniversary: named one of the “One Hundred Engineers of the Modern Era”
  • 2008, Elected into the Spanish Royal Academy of Engineering (Real Academia de Ingenieria)
  • 2006, National Academy of Sciences
  • 2005, American Chemical Society – E.V. Murphree Award


Copyright©2011 Institute of Chemistry, Academia Sinica
128 Academia Road Sec. 2, Nankang Taipei 115 Taiwan, ROC 
TEL:886-2-2782-1889 FAX:886-2-2783-1237